Variable Mismatch

Home Forums Problems and solutions in GDL Others Variable Mismatch

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author
      Lingwisyer GC
      Participant

Hi all,

I appear to have a variable mismatch in the following section of code. Code has been clipped to executed sections. Text outputting my check variable cc returns 0.305 which is correct, therefore at this stage of the code, SquareV2 = 0.305. Yet if I set Pitch_off to 50, SquareV returns -35, which if we work backwards gives SquareV2 = 0.010 rather than the expected 0.305.

If SquareV > SquareV2 - Pitch_off * tan(35) then SquareV = SquareV2 - Pitch_off * tan(35)

If Pitch_off > (SquareV2 - SquareV) / tan(35) then Pitch_off = (SquareV2 - SquareV) / tan(35)

cc = SquareV2

Ling.

AC18-23 AUS 4006
      Self-taught, bend it till it breaks.
      Win7 | E5620 x 2 | 24GB | K2200

Péter Baksa
      Keymaster

Hi, is this in a parameter script? Are these variables or parameters?

Péter Baksa
      Library Platform, Software Engineer
      GRAPHISOFT SE

Lingwisyer GC
      Participant

This is from my Master Script. Used to set minimum and maximum limits depending on the values set for other parameters.

cc is a variable, the others are parameters.

Ling.

AC18-23 AUS 4006

Péter Baksa
      Keymaster

If you have VALUES or PARAMETERS based on these in the parameter script, it is possible that the param script is run more than once, and the code you wrote will be executed more than once with different parameter values. Your condition B is based on A, but in the next run A is based on the last run of B.

You might need to use GLOB_MODPAR_NAME in the parameter script, based on which parameter the user changed, only one of the limiting conditions has to be applied.

Péter Baksa
      GRAPHISOFT SE

Lingwisyer GC
      Participant

Setting SquareV and Pitch_off to only update when they are modified has no affect. They only affect each other.